November is a month of months!

It turns out that not only is it NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), it is also National Non Fiction November! And, by some strange coincidence, I am (sort of) approaching the latter through the former. I shall explain.

A shield with images associated with writing in it.

NaNoWriMo logo

Despite its name, NaNoWriMo is international, not just national, and every November hundreds of thousands of people around the world sign up to write 50,000 words of a novel in a month. It works out at just over 1600 words a day. However, you can be a ‘rebel’ writer (an actual forum category) and write non-fiction or other works.

And this is what I’ve signed up for, in a rash moment. As I work full-time and also have a part-time job, I have little hope of reaching the 50,000 target, as it works out at about 2 hours of writing time a day (or longer, if the creativity is not flowing very well). I’m currently well below target, averaging only 500 words a day – see the chart below. The website helpfully works out when you will finish the 50,000 at your current rate – for me it is 4th Feb 2016!

Line graph

Currently not meeting the target

I am not writing a novel, but have decided to write as many blog posts as I can. Some may never be published, some will probably need considerable editing later on, but some may be good enough to be published this month. I have two blogs to my name – this library one, and a yoga one – so if I’m stuck for creativity on one I can try writing a blog post for the other.

Logo of open book with pictures of things coming out of it

 

In writing non-fiction for NaNoWriMo, I have accidentally neatly linked in to the National Non Fiction November month in the UK. This has been established by The Federation of Children’s Book Groups and is a celebration of factual reading material, particularly for children and young people. It was formed out of National Non-Fiction Day, and the website has lots of resources and ideas for libraries or bookshops to celebrate the month. CILIP has also written a blog post promoting it. If you like reading and writing and haven’t heard of either of these campaigns before you might want to look them up.

In case I’m lacking in creativity, does anyone have any suggestions for future library blog posts they’d like to read? Let me know and I’ll see if I can write a few words about them.

About alysontyler

Civil servant, yoga teacher and former librarian.
This entry was posted in Challenges, CILIP, Events, Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to November is a month of months!

  1. It’s also World Vegan Month in November. Sounds like a good excuse to make some rich chocolate cake. (as if an excuse was needed…)

  2. National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) has been an eye opener for me. I hadn’t expected it to be so much fun, and to fuel my creativity in that way. I’m recording my progress on my blog at http://karldrinkwater.blogspot.com – I have more time for writing than you, hence the higher word count, but I’m glad to see people taking part even when they are not working on a novel, or not aiming at 50,000 words: so well done for that. Veni, vidi, scripsi.

Leave a Reply

